The World Will End on Tuesday

I was discussing this with Mrs. Matson over morning emails.

As an aside before I get to my point…

I have always found it astounding that the landscape and culture of a city can so drastically change in just a few square miles. Almost as if you pass into another country or world all together.

I digress.

My point.

After visiting the link, reading the bit that passes as an article, watching the video, and finally, reading a few comments, what is your take?

Mine generated a few questions:

  1. What is the percentage dispersion of EBT/Foodstamps in the county where I currently reside?
  2. How many of my suburban neighbors are on EBT/Foodstamps?
  3. What’s your plan for saying yea/nay to neighbor seeking help in crisis or troubled times?
  4. What is your plan for when said neighbor finds out that you do indeed have the ability to feed yourself in times of crisis?

I’ll be honest with you here. Even after two weeks of NPCC & the Recovery Road series with Andy, I’m still hesitant to change my fundamental way of thinking which is along the lines of extreme threat mitigation.

My first reaction is to load mags and prepare to repel boarders.

This is however, not how it works. Doing the above will not foment support from your neighbors and they are ultimately who make up your tribe.

The above story takes place within a relatively short drive of the Matson compound. I would imagine that could also be a doable walk for someone hungry enough.

 

Leave a Reply

