The Way of the Gun

Living where I do, the only places to shoot that are close are indoor. To me, this sucks. No, kinda, sorta. It just plain sucks.

Outdoor ranges and isolated backyards are something I have alaways longed for. I’ve even gone so far as to try and buy some property and establish a range on it. Problem is, I’m married and Mrs. Matson, while very pro-go train your butt off, is not too keen on spending $20,000+ on land so I can practice weapons transitions. About a year ago, I got involved with a few pals who were starting a range with training facility, but that, due to county restrictions, fell through. Alas, I was doomed to coughing and hacking and shooting at paper targets unless I wanted to drive 2.5 hours to my hunting lease.

However, due to a loose affiliation, I became aware of an outdoor, private range just a few minutes from the Matson suburban compound. I applied, and much to my surprise, was accepted as a provisional member. Know what that means? A good portion of my income just got allocated to ammo…

With daylight extended, I can now run up to the range and get in a few mags after the kids are bound and gagged for the evening.

Last night, I did just that very thing.

Shot steel at 10 meters, multiple target engagement, with mag changes, and transition to backup weapon.

Lessons learned:

  • You can never practice that mag change enough.
  • If you don’t shoot that backup gun on a regular basis, you can’t hit anything with it.
  • Engaging multiple targets and multiple angles is not necessarily that hard after a bit of practice.

Muscle memory is a powerful thing. Learned processes and drills stick with you for a long time. It’s akin to stropping the edge of blade just to put a polish back on the edge to get it shaving sharp.

I found that my draw needs a bit of work. The Gunsite process seems awkward and I need to find a happy medium that fits my shooting style. Input from my four readers (if you have any) would be welcome.

Leave a Reply

