On Scout Rifles

Oh yes. Oh yes indeed.

Kerodin says that “every patriot needs one”.

I would go a bit further and say every able bodied man in the country needs one. Fathers should get one for each child as they come of age. Wives and daughters as well.

This is the Swiss Army Knife of guns. Simple as that.

Here’s the concept:

Light, fast, good solid chambering, magazine fed, bolt gun. Cooper idealized the platform as something to serve the user with its inherent versatility and flexibility. If you ever saw him shoot his Steyr, he would throw it up to his shoulder and pop a man sized target out to 200 yards. He called it the “Snap Shot”. I never trained with him or went to Gunsite. I saw him do this on Shooting USA or something similar years ago. In fact, that was the first time (i think I was in my very early 20’s) when I was introduced to the concept. 15 minutes after seeing this, I called my local gun store and asked them to order me a Steyr Scout. It was only after they told me the price that I gasped, said ‘no thanks’ and hung up.

Fast forward a few years and I picked up a Mosin Nagant and scouted it all up using after market this and that. I still have said abomination. I’ve killed more deer & hogs with it than I would ever admit to in a public setting. 7.62x54r is one hell of a hammer. The Mosin however, is not really a true scout. For that, according to Cooper, it would have to be in .308win, have a bigger mag, and come with a bi-pod.

Fast forward again a few years to the Savage Scout. Great rifle. Limited production run and not a good seller. I missed that window.

Forward still, Ruger introduces something akin to a scout – maybe the frontier? Don’t know. I was too busy doing grad school and thinking about how to pay for that second and third kid.

However, last year, the final ball dropped.

Ruger GSR. Ho-lee-crap. Best rifle ever.

Again, not a true scout per Cooper – no bi-pod. But, it’s close enough for me.

Just after I snapped the above pic, I dropped an eight point about 180 yards off to my left. Later on that season, I popped a doe at sub-50 yards, got down to check her, looked up in the opposite direction and saw two bucks about 100 yards out behind where I was.

Here’s where the scout concept shines dear readers…

I chambered another round, brought the rifle up and dropped buck #1, worked the bolt and put a round into buck #2.

Get it? Long range accuracy, high round count mags, solid .308win, long eye relief optics for extremely fast follow ups. Cooper’s concept proved out. BTW – tier 1 operator? Nope. Pushing 40 glorified network admin.

On my last three training exercises I have taken my GSR as my back up or “bench rifle” while the others in the group tote Savages or Remchesters that weigh twice as much. Gee guys, with optics and two spare mags you are still south of a middle level AR or AK.

Is it an SSG? Nope. Some AI, or custom Remchester thing that shoots sub-MOA. Nope. Though, I would argue it is one of the most flexible rifles out there today. You could do a lot worse, but you would have a really tough time and spend lots and lots of cash to do better.

Go get one.

Leave a Reply

