Comms for the Road Warrior

If you look back a bit on the blog, you will see a fairly decent gap in posting. This happened for several reasons. Some I will eventually go into and comment on as they speak to the liberty movement and PATCONs as a whole, while others deal with my day to day career and family situations.

During the gap, I sold my current company to a larger (much) larger organization and was given the option of staying on in a much larger role. To be honest, I kind of dig what I do day to day, and this was a big opportunity for resume fodder. I took it, and it came with a ton of business travel. Most of the locations are CONUS, and static – meaning the teams at those locations won’t change and I will visit them on a semi-regular basis. At some point, should continue on in this role, I will have to stage get home gear and weapons at these locations, but as it stands today, that is not the case.

Which leads me to the topic at hand…

Road Warrior Comms. I read this post from PJ this morning and it got me thinking. Good stuff.

Here’s my take:

Now, why?

Truth is, weight and hassel.

Since I fly out on Tuesday and come back on Thursday of almost every week, I’ve paired my kit down to what can fit in my GR1. If it doesn’t fit in this, it doesn’t go. Period. The DV Dongle does. Couple that to my ever present laptop, and you have radio comms that can reach around the world. Past that, it’s the mobile phone with mobile broadband.

I know what you are thinking: “But the cell towers and Net connections will be down during a disaster!”

Yeah, *maybe*, but not likely. Cell towers, like most major connection and MUX points for Net connectivity are unbelievably redundant. They are built to withstand storms, power outages, and everything in between. I have this pal who does tower maintenance and after long conversations with him, I’m sold on this. And, while you might have coverage gaps or traffic congestion, you will be able to get SMS and data through 99.99% of the time.

Would I consider dragging one of my many HT’s along for the ride? Yep, but it would depend on what the socio-political landscape looked like prior to the Delta departure. There is something to be said for VHF/UHF analog comms while out here on the road, but where I go on a week to week basis, the Net and digital make more sense. The weight savings are priceless.

YMMV…

Leave a Reply

